Queensland Branch Committee Members

  • 1

The Queensland State Soil

qldvertosolThe Queensland Branch of the Australian Society of Soil Science Inc selected a Vertosol as the State soil.

Vertosols are clay soils with shrink-swell properties that cause deep and wide cracking on drying. More than half of Australia’s Vertosols are found in Queensland, where they occupy 28% of the State’s total area. 58% of the State’s cropping area is located on Vertosols. They occur on mainly on alluvial plains, weathered sedimentary rocks (e.g. shales mudstones) and weathered basalt. Vegetation associations include grassland (e.g. Mitchell grass), open eucalypt woodland (e.g. Queensland blue gum) and brigalow/gidgee forests.




Queensland Branch Email: qld@soilscienceaustralia.org.au


Queensland By-Laws

At the 2014 Annual General Meeting of the Queensland Branch there were five major changes to the by-laws voted on and passed which related to the committee structure and the funding limits that can be approved by the committee without an OGM. A copy of the by-laws can be provided upon request.


Queensland Honour Board

2015-16 J McLean Bennett M Crawford D Brough K Williams
2014-15 G Kopittke K Brown D Doolan J McLean Bennett
2013-14 D Brough G Kopittke D Doolan J McLean Bennett
2012-13 S Buchanan D Brough G Kitzrow S Santomartino
2011-12 L Cartwright S Buchanan R Bruce S Santomartino
2010-11 A McElnea L Cartwright R Bruce K Bryant
2009-10 T Baumgartl A McElnea G Kopittke K Marchiori
2008-09 P Kopittke T Baumgartl G Kopittke K Marchiori
2007-08 B Harms P Kopittke K Diefel/A McElnea B Carey
2006-07 K Watling P Tolmie S Catchpoole B Carey
2005-06 D Yule K Watling P Kopittke B Carey
2004-05 R Thwaites D Yule P Kopittke K Watling
2003-04 A Biggs R Thwaites C Vacher RC Bruce
2002-03 MJ Grundy A Biggs C Vacher RC Bruce
2001-02 AA Webb MJ Grundy PG Shields RC Bruce
2000-01 KM Hey AA Webb AE McElnea G Kopittke /RC Bruce
1999-00 M Littleboy /RJ Loch KM Hey AE McElnea FPC Blamey
1998-99 DM Freebairn M Littleboy A Biggs SR Raine
1997-98 NW Menzies DM Freebairn A Biggs SR Raine
1996-97 CR Ahern NW Menzies DE Baker SR Raine
1995-96 GH Price CR Ahern J Standley HM Hunter
1994-95 B Powell GH Price J Standley CR Ahern
1993-94 BM Schafer B Powell RC Dalal CR Ahern
1992-93 GE Rayment BM Schafer SF Glanville CR Ahern
1991-92 BJ Bridge GE Rayment SF Glanville ME Probert
1990-91 WM Strong BJ Bridge DE Baker PG Shields
1989-90 RC Bruce WM Strong DE Baker NW Menzies
1988-89 ME Probert RC Bruce AA Webb RJ Hartigan
1987-88 KJ Coughlan ME Probert EA Gardner BA Forster
1986-87 PG Saffigna KJ Coughlan ME Probert RW Plenderleith
1985-86 HB So PG Saffigna BJ Bridge RL Aitken
1984-85 JP Thompson WB So EK Best DM Freebairn
1983-84 RJ Myers JP Thompson DF Cameron AB McBratney
1982-83 NM Dawson RJ Myers BM Schafer BE Vandersee
1981-82 LC Bell NM Dawson PW Moody RL Aitken
1980-81 I Vallis LC Bell R Ison GG Beckmann
1979-80 PR Stevens I Vallis PB Powell PG Saffigna
1978-79 AL Clarke PR Stevens MJ Whitehouse SE Macnish
1977-78 RC McDonald AL Clarke MJ Whitehouse GE Rayment
1976-77 JS Russell RC McDonald RJ Myers I Vallis
1975-76 SA Waring JS Russell NM Dawson AS Black
1974-75 BJ Crack SA Waring NM Dawson RC Bruce
1973-74 IF Fergus BJ Crack IP Little R Reeve
1972-73 DG Edwards IF Fergus CJ Asher LC Bell
1971-72 GG Beckmann DG Edwards PJ Ross I Vallis
1970-71 HS Briggs GG Beckmann RD Ridge KJ Coughlan
1969-70 WE Fox HS Briggs KJ Coughlan JD Hughes
1968-69 GB Stirk WE Fox HS Briggs GG Beckmann
1967-68 AW Moore GB Stirk HS Briggs GG Beckmann
1966-67 KC Leverington AW Moore H Hassler RE White
1965-66 F Chippendale KC Leverington H Hassler A Hegarty
1964-65 CH Thompson F Chippendale IP Little IF Fergus
1963-64 PJ Skerman CH Thompson JD Hughea WE Fox
1962-63 AE Martin PJ Skerman GB Stirk RF Isbell
1960-62 JE Coaldrake AE Martin R Reeve RE Prebble
1958-60 CR von Stieglitz PJ Skerman (JE Coaldrake) H Hassler JD Hughes
1956-58 GD Hubble RE Prebble CH Thompson  

Webmaster Login

Soil Science Australia


Soil Science Australia is a not-for-profit organisation that serves as the peak body for soil scientists across Australia, and seeks to advance soil science in the professional, academic and technical fields.  It is a member of the International Union of Soil Sciences



Visit Awards Page or download application forms below

J.A. Prescott Medal of Soil Science

J.K. Taylor, OBE, Gold Medal in Soil Science

Australian Society of Soil Science Inc Publication Medal

C.G. Stephens PhD Award in Soil Science

L.J.H Teakle Award


 Federal Office

  PO Box 737 Prospect East 5082

 0476 450 321